Courage – Part Two

Often enough fear is the thing that holds us back from doing what needs to be done.  It creates doubt in us.  This is a feeling that can really disrupt what we either must do or want to do.  Most often enough all we need to do is think logically about the situation and we can over come it.

I remember the first time I descended into Lake Travis for my Open Water Scuba Certification.  They said you wouldn’t be able to see bottom.  Literally there was just a rope going into nothing-ness.  That has freaked quite a few people out.  It definitely is scary your first or even tenth time in Lake Travis.  The most important thing I remember is something else they said though.  The rope is tied to a platform that sits at 25 feet.  So using logic… I looked at my depth gauge as I went down the rope.  I wasn’t concerned with what I couldn’t see anymore.  I just trusted my instructors and watched for when I got close to 25 feet.  Once I got to about 20 feet… I could see the platform and my fellow students on it.

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.  You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.”  Eleanor Roosevelt

Tackling that first hurdle has enabled me to do so much more with diving.  It has also payed off in my Martial Arts training and other parts of my life.  I feel that moment was put in front of me to overcome.  It made me stronger and able to overcome other hurdles and potential  fears put in front of me.

Face it!!!


Guro Larry, Lauren & Tori St. Clair
The Always Improving Martial Way Academy
American Top Team Trained and Certified MMA Affiliate
Martial Arts Training and Fitness Education at its Best
http://www.martialway.net
512-821-3637

The old saying that knowledge is power is just that… execution… now that is POWER!!!

Leave a Reply

